Raider Band Members Receive End-of-Year Recognitions

The Raider Band recognized band members for outstanding achievement at an April 23 banquet.

Nico Perez received the prestigious John Philip Sousa Award, an honor recognizing the outstanding band member for a career of musical and leadership excellence and integrity. The senior also received the Leonard Bernstein Award, which recognizes pure outstanding musicianship and high-level performance.

Darian Blair received the Patrick S. Gilmore Award; the award recognizes outstanding contribution and service to the band for the duration of band career. Blair also received the MVP Award, an honor voted on by band members as the Most Valuable Player and member of the band.

Noah Youngman received the Ben Scarborough Award which recognizes an individual with a passion for music, the band organization, and a heart for every member in the band.

Jaky Gamez received the Director’s Award which distinguishes the right-hand person for directors, as well as the outstanding band member in every way.

Allie Tinney was recognized with the Outstanding Leadership Award, a recognition of leadership through selfless service and giving, as well as exemplifying spirit and pride in the organization.

Ryann Williams received the Color Guard Performer Award for outstanding overall performance and service in color guard.

Trista Cunningham received the National School Marching Student Award for outstanding execution and marching arts leadership and performance.

Shelby Cunningham was named junior of the year, Logan Foster received sophomore of the year, and Zane Burnett was named freshman of the year.

Most Improved Awards, recognition of growth in musicianship and performance, went to Color Guard member Kaylea Griffin, senior Alondra Lopez Cruz, junior Rosa Clapp, sophomore Logan Clapp, and freshman Camdon Buckley.

Joseph Aldridge received Most Spirited Award, which recognizes a member who exemplifies the energy and spirit of the Winnsboro band.

Section of the Year Award went to the tubas.

Recipients of the Band Booster scholarships were Darian Blair, $900; Nico Perez, $700; and Gina Brownlee, $400.